August 11, 2020

2020 Berlin E-Prix (Rd 9)

Fast facts

– Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA) returns to winning ways at Tempelhof Airport to take first victory of the season in Berlin.

– Portugal’s Antonio Felix da Costa crosses the line in second place to secure maiden ABB FIA Formula E Championship crown.

– DS TECHEETAH duo complete one-two finish in damp conditions to successfully defend teams’ title with two rounds to spare.



Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA)

“As a team we couldn’t dream of a better day. We won the teams’ championship, Antonio won the drivers’ title and I jumped to second in the standings. With two more races to go, I’ll keep my head down and race for the runner-up spot. It’s a fantastic day and I’m extremely proud to be a part of this team. I know the feeling that hits you on the last lap just before crossing the chequered flag and you’re about to win your first championship. It’s probably the best moment in the life of a racing driver and Antonio should enjoy every second of it.”



Antonio Felix da Costa (PRT)

“I’m speechless. Sometimes I’ve been so close to giving up during the tough times, and thanks to the people around me I never did. I’m very grateful to these guys who believed in me and my capabilities, even when I was finishing nowhere near the podium. Massive thanks to JEV, I know this is hard for him, but he pushed me all the way and helped me out a lot and it’s mainly thanks to him I settled so quickly in the team. Today we had a plan and we executed it perfectly. JEV and myself helped each other out, but it was very intense at the end since both Seb and Oli were always there. Everyone was very fair today and raced as the champions they are!”


Nissan e.dams

Sebastien Buemi (CHE)

“I tried to save as much energy as I could, and I felt the call to overtake Oli was a bit late to be honest. By the time I managed to do so, it was the end of the race. I’m a bit disappointed because I feel like I could’ve had the opportunity to finish second, if I had used the energy properly. I’m sad for Oli as he deserved better today. We scored some good points for the team and congratulations to Antonio, he has done an amazing job and I’m happy for him. But there’s still work to do. It’s my second podium here in Berlin and I’m looking forward to the final double-header.”


Race results

Provisional classification

1            Jean-Eric Vergne             46:24.803s         (29)

2            Antonio Felix da Costa   +0.497s (19)

3            Sebastien Buemi             +1.392s (15)

4            Nyck de Vries    +3.791s (12)

5            Oliver Rowland +5.018s (10)

6            Lucas di Grassi  +9.805s (8)

7            Mitch Evans       +14.814s             (6)

8            Andre Lotterer  +15.755s             (4)

9            Alex Lynn            +21.001s             (2)

10          Felipe Massa     +22.809s             (1)

11          Sam Bird             +22.911s

12          Stoffel Vandoorne          +23.388s

13          Alexander Sims +23.575s

14          Edoardo Mortara            +23.889s

15          Jerome D’Ambrosio       +23.914s

16          Rene Rast           +24.381s

17          James Calado    +26.600s

18          Daniel Abt          +29.121s

19          Neel Jani             +29.527s

20          Nico Mueller      +34.431s

21          Sergio Sette Camara      +36.315s

22          Oliver Turvey     +1:01.473s


DNF       Maximilian Guenther

DNS       Robin Frijns


*Provisional – pending FIA final classification


Driver standings

Antonio Felix da Costa   DS TECHEETAH 156

Jean-Eric Vergne             DS TECHEETAH 80

Maximilian Guenther     BMW i Andretti Motorsport       69

Lucas di Grassi  Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler           69

Sebastien Buemi             Nissan e.dams   67

Mitch Evans       Panasonic Jaguar Racing              65

Andre Lotterer  TAG Heuer Porsche        59

Stoffel Vandoorne          Mercedes-Benz EQ         57

Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams   54

Sam Bird             Envision Virgin Racing    52

Alexander Sims BMW i Andretti Motorsport       49

Nyck de Vries    Mercedes-Benz EQ         42

Robin Frijns        Envision Virgin Racing    40

Edoardo Mortara            ROKiT Venturi Racing     36

Jerome D’Ambrosio       Mahindra Racing             19

Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Racing             14

James Calado    Panasonic Jaguar Racing              10

Daniel Abt          NIO 333              8

Felipe Massa     ROKiT Venturi Racing     3

Alex Lynn            Mahindra Racing             2

Brendon Hartley              GEOX DRAGON 2

Rene Rast           Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler           1

Neel Jani             TAG Heuer Porsche        0

Oliver Turvey     NIO 333              0

Nico Mueller      GEOX DRAGON 0

Ma Qing Hua     NIO 333              0

Sergio Sette Camara      GEOX DRAGON 0


*Provisional – pending FIA final classification


Team standings


Nissan e.dams   121

BMW i Andretti Motorsport       118

Mercedes-Benz EQ         99

Envision Virgin Racing    92

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler           78

Panasonic Jaguar Racing              75

TAG Heuer Porsche        59

ROKiT Venturi Racing     39

Mahindra Racing             35


NIO 333              0


*Provisional – pending FIA final classification




Maserati today announces the first step in its motorsport strategy and will make its debut in the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship in 2023. With motorsport in its genes and rooted in the spirit of pure competition, Maserati is the first Italian brand to compete in...